Personal

Snow White and the Seven Dimwits

We all know the ending to fairy tales. We all know about Snow White and the Seven Deadly Sins. Okay, I am exaggerating, but each of those dwarfs represented an emotion that thankfully we should never want to encounter in our lifetime. Honestly, those stories are just full of boloney and peanut butter sandwiches that are better left in the refrigerator or pantry.

But because I have two younguns, I need to explain why these stories are extremely fictitious and ridiculous. You see I don’t believe in them and furthermore I believe it gives kids a false sense of hope in that marrying Prince Charming ensures happiness. It does not. I do not want my children to learn marriage equals happiness. I want my children to understand that happiness comes from within. You have to be at peace with yourself to stay balanced and in harmony. And that requires a whole new post on that topic.

I am teaching my son, Alex, that women are not fully responsible for household duties. Men are just as if not equal to doing the same as women. I am teaching him to cook, wash dishes, do the laundry, picking up after himself. These are not “women tasks,” these are just normal human being tasks. I told him when you live out by yourself one day and Mommy won’t be there to help you; you’ll have to learn. He understands this. That’s why when he cooks sometimes, he will ask me, “Mommy, do you want to eat a hot dog too?”

Thank you Alex for a wonderful meal :)
Thank you Alex for a wonderful meal 🙂

Thank you for stopping by :)